A single-car accident is currently being investigated by the North Carolina Highway Patrol after one teen died and another was left seriously injured. The accident happened around 8:00 p.m. in Johnston County.
Accident reports indicate that the teen’s SUV drove off of the road when the teen overcorrected, ran into a ditch, and was thrown into a tree. The 16-year-old driver died at the scene of the accident and the 17-year-old passenger was transported to WakeMed in Raleigh and treated for various injuries, according to ABC11. Authorities have listed speed as a factor in the accident.
There are ways that we can help to reduce the risks of teen car accidents in Greensboro and elsewhere. All we need is a little help from lawmakers and from parents, according to a recent study from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS).
Safe driving advocates recently studied the Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) laws of each state and compared them with their rates for teen car accidents. The goal of the study was to find out what makes a successful GDL program. Officials determined that there were 5 components to success. The five were permit age, licensing age, passenger restrictions, night time driving restrictions and required supervised driving time. These laws are no good though if law enforcement officers and parents don’t help to enforce them.
Our Greensboro car accident attorneys understand that the state of North Carolina and our GDL laws didn’t do too badly with officials with the IIHS. We have a permit age of 15-years-old, which officials suggest should be higher. We do require our young drivers to complete 60 hours of supervised driving time during the restricted licensing stage. While we didn’t meet the IIHS suggestions of 65 hours, we did beat out many other states. We have relatively strict nighttime restrictions, banning our young drivers from driving from 9:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m. Our passenger restrictions aren’t bad either. Teen drivers with a restricted license are not allowed to have more than 1 passenger younger than 21.
These restrictions are lifted when a driver is 16-years-old and has had their restricted license for at least 6 months. Officials suggest that this age be lifted to 18-years-old. Regardless, state lawmakers could tighten up these laws a little bit to help to keep our young drivers safe.
In North Carolina, driver education is required for permit applicants younger than the age of 18-years-old.
“Even the best states can do better,” says Anne McCartt, IIHS senior vice president.
GDL programs allow these young drivers to get their driving experience and education through a series of stages and through various restrictions. This allows them to mature as a driver and to develop safe skills behind the wheel.
If you or someone you love has been injured or killed in a car accident in Greensboro, Asheville or elsewhere in the Carolinas, contact the injury lawyers at Lee Law Offices to schedule a free and confidential appointment to discuss your case today. Call 800-887-1965.
More Blog Entries:
Teen Car Accidents in Asheville and Elsewhere Likely through Summer, North Carolina Personal Injury Lawyers Blog, June 8, 2012