ATV Accident Kills 13-Year-Old in Sampson County

A 13-year-old was killed in a recent all-terrain vehicle (ATV) accident off of Spell Road.

According to the Fay Observer, officials with the Highway Patrol have not decided if they’re going to press charges. It happened when the young rider flipped the vehicle and was thrown from it. He was pronounced dead at the scene of the accident. He was on the ATV with another 12-year-old passenger who suffered minor injuries.
852090_atv_muck.jpg
Our Sampson County personal injury lawyers understand that there were more than 310 people killed in ATV accidents in 2010 and another 120,000 who were seriously injured. Young kids who are allowed to ride these vehicles face some serious risks and are more likely than older riders to be involved in accidents.

In 2010, there were nearly 60 children under the age of 16 who were killed in ATV accidents. There were another 28,500 youngsters treated in emergency rooms because of ATV accidents, according to ATVSafety.gov. These young riders accounted for a quarter of all ATV injury-resulting accident victims during the year and close to 20 percent of all ATV accident fatalities.

In the state of North Carolina, an ATV is defined as a vehicle that is made for off-road travel. It includes both three- and four-wheeled vehicles that travel on four low-pressure tires. It must also have a seat that’s designed to be straddled by the driver and must have handlebars to control steering.

North Carolina ATV Safety Laws:

-No one under the age of 8-years-old is allowed to operate an ATV.

-No one under the age of 16-years-old is allowed to operate an ATV without adult supervision.

-You must wear eye protection when operating an ATV.

-You cannot ride an ATV without wearing a helmet that meets the U.S. Department of Transportation standard for motorcycle helmets.

-No one is allowed to operate an ATV in a reckless or a careless manner.

-ATVs are not to be driven on limited-access highways or on interstates.

-ATVs are not to be driven when it’s dark out. You cannot drive from one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise or during any other time when visibility is reduced for any reason.

-No one is allowed to operate an ATV under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

Riding an ATV can be a fun sport, but it can also be a dangerous and deadly activity. Operators are asked to be safe out there, drive cautiously and wear all of the proper safety equipment. Never allow young kids to operate an ATV. Many ATV accidents can be avoided by keeping safety first and respecting the risks.

We encourage you to take a rider safety course, keep your equipment in good repair, teach young riders to ride safe, and enjoy that gorgeous autumn weather in the Carolinas!

If you or a family member has been injured, contact the Carolina injury attorneys at Lee Law Offices, P.A. today for a free and confidential consultation to discuss your rights. Call 1-800-887-1965.

More Blog Entries:

Riding on Public Roadways Presents a High Risk for North Carolina ATV Accidents, North Carolina Personal Injury Lawyers Blog, June 9, 2011

ATV accident in Carolina killed 16-year-old before new bill takes effect, North Carolina Personal Injury Lawyers Blog, May 30, 2011

Contact Information