All drivers and passengers over the age of 15 are required to wear a seat belts — regardless of their location in the vehicle. Children under the age of 16 are covered by the NC Child Passenger Safety law, according to buckleupnc.com.
Kids younger than eight AND weighing less than 80 pounds must ride in a car seat or booster. Depending on which comes first, kids can upgrade to a seat belt once they turn eight or top 80 pounds.
With these laws in place, and with seat belt usage rates at an all-time high, there are still millions of Americans who aren’t buckling up and thousands who are being killed in traffic accidents each and every year.
Our Charlotte car accident attorneys are asking everyone to buckle up! It’s your best defense against injury and death in the event of a car accident. This is especially important during this time of year — the holiday travel season. During this time of year, we typically see more car accidents because there are many more travelers out there. Protect yourself and buckle up!
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), the rate for seat belt usage has been climbing every year since 1994. Today, our seat belt usage rate sits at about 85 percent. That’s not high enough though!
“When it comes to driving safely, one of the most effective ways to protect yourself and your family is to use a seat belt,” says the U.S. Department of Transportation’s Secretary Ray LaHood.
Seat belt usage rates are higher in states that have primary enforcement seat belt laws. This means that a law enforcement official can pull you over for not wearing your seat belt and for that alone. In state that have secondary enforcement seat belt laws, officers must observe you breaking another road law before they can pull you over and cite you for not wearing a seat belt.
Regardless of the seat belt laws, you should wear your seat belt, and properly buckle in children, to help to improve your safety out there. Some of the best drivers even get into accidents. You can’t always depend on the driving habits of other to keep you safe. Help to protect yourself!
There are 32 states in the country that have primary seat belt laws. There are another 17 that have secondary seat belt laws. Currently, the state of New Hampshire is the only state in the country that has no primary or secondary seat belt law. The only seat belt law New Hampshire has makes it a requirement for all vehicle occupants under the age of 18 to be properly buckled in.
We’re especially talking to the men here! According to the National Safety Council (NSC), men are less likely than women to wear a seat belt.
Remember: Wearing a seat belt can reduce the risk of crash injury by 50 percent.
If you or someone in your family has been injured or killed in a traffic accident, contact the Lee Law Offices, P.A. for a free and confidential consultation. Call 1-800-887-1965 to speak with an accident lawyer today.
More Blog Entries:
Red States & Blue States Divided… in Car Accident Risks, North Carolina Car Accident Lawyers Blog, November 27, 2012