Officials with the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles recently announced that there is a new motorcycle beginner permit renewal system. This change comes as officials attempt to improve motorcycle rider safety. Now, before renewing a beginner’s permit, each rider is required to make an effort to pass the motorcycle skills test.
This change was made specifically so that motorcyclists would not be able to continuously renew their beginner permit instead of applying to get a motorcycle license. Now they’re got to take the test. If they pass then they will get a motorcycle enforcement or license. If they fail the test, they will more than likely be able to renew the beginner’s permit.
Our Anderson motorcycle accident lawyers understand that motorcycle permits are good for one year and can be renewed without limit. The only difference between these two permits is that a motorcyclist is not allowed to operate the vehicle during nighttime hours. The law, however, also gives the DMV the option to refuse a renewal if they feel that the applicant does not make an attempt to pass the test.
With more than 110,000 motorcycles on our state’s road, 30 percent of them are most likely be handled by beginner permit holders and not licensed riders. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), close to 20 percent of all motor vehicle accident deaths recorded in 2011 in South Carolina were of motorcyclists. The number of motorcyclist fatalities also jumped by roughly 20 percent from the year before.
In a recent study from the Governors Highway Safety Association (GHSA), the first 9 months of 2012 saw a more than 10 percent increase in the number of motorcycle accident fatalities compared to the same time in 2011.
“We have found motorcycle riders who have renewed their beginner permits five, ten and even 13 times,” said Kevin Shwedo, DMV Executive Director.
Consider brushing up on these motorcycle laws if you have your beginner’s license. It’s not a bad idea to brush up even if you’re a seasoned rider. You can never be too safe out there:
-A motorcyclist is required to sit astride the seat, facing forward, with one leg on each side of the motorcycle.
-All motorcycles are entitled to one full lane of travel.
-Motorcycles shall not be operated more than two abreast in a single lane.
-You cannot ride a motorcycle without a rear-view mirror.
-The operator of a motorcycle shall not overtake and pass in the same lane occupied by the vehicle being overtaken.
-Helmets shall be worn by operators and passengers under age twenty-one. The helmet must be of a type approved by the department.
-Eye protection is required by law for all riders under the age of 21, unless equipped with windscreen.
If you or a loved one has been injured or killed in a motorcycle accident in the Carolinas, contact the Lee Law Offices, P.A. to schedule a free and confidential appointment to discuss your case. Call 1-800-887-1965 today!
More Blog Entries:
North Carolina Motorcycle Accidents in Focus this May, North Carolina Personal Injury Lawyers Blog, May 24, 2013
New Motorcycle Law Helping to Save Riders’ Lives, North Carolina Personal Injury Lawyers Blog, July 31, 2012